It was built in 1857 for younger brother of Maharaja Ram Singh, ruler of Bharatpur at that time. The palace is set amongst a sprawling 50 acres and a vivid example of Rajput and Mughal architecture fusion. The palace was originally called as RaghunathNiwas as it was built for him but local always used to call it KakajikiKothi. It has played host to various dignitaries including Duke of Edinburth, Shah of Iran and king of Nepal. The guests enjoy the same hospitality even today as it has been maintained even today after it was converted into a heritage hotel in 1994. The furniture, furnishings, paintings and photographs are today reminiscent of gracious days of Raj as care has been taken to preserve the original character while restoring and renovating the Palace.